Broken Dreams.

Broken Dreams.

I haven’t had the motivation to write in awhile, and Patrick and I have been busy house hunting or working. Unfortunately our grief has not taken a break. Lately it feels as if we are talking about the what ifs or our lost future more often. Our dreams are broken about having a beautiful and happy family.

Yesterday him and I were sitting outside on the swing and talking about how nice it would have been to have Gemma outside with us, for her to feel the grass, hear the birds chirping and just be in awe of the outside. How we would have loved to get a kids/small shallow pool and the three of us sit in it with Gemma enjoying the warm weather, of course Gemma wearing a cute bikini with her cute Buddha belly and rolls galore. I mourn not only for my precious daughter, but for the future we lost. There was so much love but we still didn’t get to keep her. Our heart breaks everyday, over and over again. The deep pain and anguish never ends.

There are times now I see a picture of her and it’s hard to see them. Seeing her brings me so much pain, but seeing her smile and how beautiful she was also brings me joy. It’s strange to feel so much agony and joy from seeing her pictures or watching her videos. I have a new favorite picture, her huge smile melts my heart and puts a smile on my face.

Gemma 44

I don’t believe the pain will ever go away. People tell me time will heal, but there’s no way time can heal the hole in my chest. I feel as if getting day to day may just become easier to endure the pain.

Mother’s Day wasn’t too awful. Having my friend’s and family’s love and support definitely helped me get through the day. Of course Mother’s Day with my beautiful Gemma would have been perfect, but it’s not feasible, just another beautiful dream.

Leave a comment